LHC ring
LHC ring (Photo: CERN)

The Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS) is a particle detector in the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) located near Geneva, Switzerland.  The University of Wisconsin has an active team of scientists and engineers working on the experiment. The group’s successful completion of the first LHC Run resulted in the discovery of the Higgs boson, thereby completing the Standard Model (SM) of Particle Physics. The second LHC Run resulted in establishing firmly the SM-like Higgs boson and began the era of detailed mapping of its properties. Preparations are on for the third LHC Run and upgrades of the detector for the High Luminosity LHC operations. In addition to the detailed SM measurements, the group continues to be involved in searches for dark matter, exotic decays, exotic particles, extra dimensions, supersymmetry or whatever else emerges in the debris from the LHC’s record-setting proton collision energies.

Group Members


K. Black, T. Bose, S. Dasu, M. Herndon

Ph. D. Physicists

I. De Bruyn, C. Galloni, P. Everaerts, C. Koraka, A. Mohammadi, A. Mohapatra, D. Pinna, A. Savin, V. Sharma, C. Vuosalo

Graduate Students

A. Aravind, E. Chavez, H. He, S. Lomte, A. Mallampalli, J. Marquez, S. Mondal, T. Nelson, G. Parida, R. Simeon, V. Shang, D. Teague, H.F. Tsoi, W. Vetens, A. Warden

Undergraduate Students

K. Jia, B. Nee, E. Mettner, A. Quinn

Engineering Staff

K. Das, R. Fobes, T. Gorski, A. Svetek, J. Tikalsky


S. Banerjee (Senior Scientist), A. Lanaro (Senior Scientist), R. Loveless (Distinguished Senior Scientist), D. Reeder (Professor), W. H. Smith (Professor)


M. Anderson (Ph.D. 2011), M. Bachtis (Ph.D. 2012), W. Badgett (Scientist), Y. Baek (Postdoc), A. Belknap (Ph.D. 2015), J. Bellinger (Scientist), M. Blake (Engineer), J. Buchanan (Ph.D. 2019), C. Caillol (Postdoc), D. Carlsmith (Professor), M. Cepeda (Postdoc), Y. Chen (B.S. 2022), S. Cooperstein (B.S. 2014), S. Djuric (Postdoc), L. Dodd (Ph.D. 2018), K. Downham (B.S. 2020), J. Efron (Postdoc), K. Flood (Scientist), E. Friis (Postdoc), B. Gomber (Postdoc), L. Gray (Ph.D. 2012), K. Grogg (Ph.D. 2011), M. Grothe (Scientist), Z. Guo (Engineer), U. Hussain (Ph.D. 2020), M. Jaworski (Engineer), P. Klabbers (Scientist), J. Klukas (Ph.D. 2012), E. Koenig (BS 2018, Intern), J. Lackey (Engineer), C. Lazaridis (Ph.D. 2011), J. Leonard (Ph.D. 2011), A. Levine (Ph.D. 2016), A. Loeliger (Ph.D. 2022), K. Long (Ph.D. 2019), S. Lusin (Scientist), J. Madhusudanan Sreekala (Ph.D. 2022), W. Maier (Systems Programmer), R. Mahsem (B.S. 2022), I. Ojalvo (Ph.D. 2014, Postdoc), G. Ott (Engineer), T. Perry (Ph.D. 2016), E. Petruska (BS, 2021), S. Rader (Director of Computing – Deceased), I. Ross (Ph.D. 2013), T. Ruggles (Ph.D. 2018, Postdoc), T. Sarangi (Scientist), N. Smith (Ph.D. 2018), S. Trembath-Reichert (M.S. 2020), J. Swanson (Ph.D. 2013), D. Taylor (Ph.D. 2017), M. Tost (BS 2019), N. Venkatasubramanian (BS 2022), M. Vicente (Engineer), M. Weinberg (Ph.D. 2011), N. Woods (Ph.D. 2017), Tae-Yang You (B.S. 2015)

ATTENTION: We are always recruiting new students interested in CMS research. Please contact Profs. Black, Bose, Dasu or Herndon

Group CMS Projects

Group Student Training Material

Outreach & News Reports

Research supported by: